Royal Springs

24 September 2016

Truly a hidden gem! I know I have said that many times before, but it holds true once again. This lil spring is off of the Suwannee River in, you guess it, Suwannee County, about an hour and 45 minutes from Tallahassee.

When I began to approach the spring, I thought once again that my maps had failed me, as it lead me down a long dirt road in a residential area for quite some time. My suspicions were however, wrong.

The spring was small, but not as small as one might imagine. Another plus, since it is the off-season now, not many folks were there. I chatted with some of the locals, who informed me hundreds of people visit on summer days, leading me to wonder where all those people could possibly fit. Anyhow, it was quite lovely. Pretty much everyone who was there knew each other, which gave it the “I found a cool local spot” feel, who doesn’t love that? You always feel so accomplished when that happens, or at least I do.

The only downside is that there isn’t a place to lay out, just the water and picnic tables higher above to hang out by. The beautiful blue water and kind people definitely make up for it though.

If you are looking for a more hidden and less popular spring, Royal Springs is worth the visit.

14536864_1803013039912429_1294581174_o14513621_1803013033245763_422325651_o14522295_1803013046579095_1897920277_o

Leave a Reply

