Roma

19-20 August 2016

Rome was a personal challenge to myself. I didn’t want to spend too much time there, so I attempted to squeeze everything into 30 hours. Me vs. time, let’s see who won.

Day one was the real marathon. I arrived in Rome around 2pm, checked into my hostel and headed out soon after. I accomplished way more than I expected: the Colosseum, Roman Forum, Pantheon, Piazza Navona, Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps. It was unreal to see all of the historic sites I’ve only seen pictures of in my history textbooks before. My favorite by far was the Trevi Fountain. It’s absolutely gorgeous. I walked everywhere and was completely dead after, but it was completely worth it, even through all of the giant crowds of tourists.

14087623_1789065237973876_583481772_o

Day two was a little more laid back. The main event of the whole trip, Vatican City, was up first. Luckily I purchased an advance ticket the day before, so I got in with no problem. I walked through the entire museum, St. Peter’s Basilica and the previous Pope’s tombs. I attended Catholic school for ten years, so it was pretty neat to see all of this in real life. Everything was stunning. The highlight was definitely the Sistine Chapel, completely unreal. Just a forewarning though, the Vatican Museum is honestly worse than Disney World in terms of crowds.

14139313_1789065241307209_228049293_o

After the intensity and crowds at the Vatican I wanted to do something a little more relaxing. I decided to walk around Villa Borghese, a large park, filled with few tourists and many locals. Post-park I grabbed my bags from the hostel and took the train back to Florence.

14139456_1789065247973875_2112710886_o

All in all, I’m really glad I went to Rome to see all of the sites because really, when is the next time I’ll be in Italy? It’s definitely not my favorite city, however it is worthwhile. 30 hours and 22 walked miles later, I defeated time.

Leave a Reply

