Sorrento

17-19 August 2016

After a few days in Florence, I headed south to do some more exploring. I took the train to Naples, then another to Sorrento. My hostel was actually a bit out of the city, about a 40-minute walk. I honestly needed it to balance out all of the gelato I ate.

The first day I arrived in the afternoon, so after checking in I decided to just stroll around. I’ve found it’s best to just walk around when first arriving in a city to get a feel for where you are and what the town is like. I stopped into a tourist stand to ask for dinner recommendations and the man working directed me to Marina Grande. The little area was so charming. I ordered seafood pasta (of course I was on the coast) and watched the sun set over the water. It was beautiful.

14123952_1787822144764852_78886301_o

The following morning I went to Capri with a friend I made at the hostel, Jack. I originally planned on doing quite a few things on the island, but due to slow buses we just ended up going up to Mount Solaro. The view was definitely worth the wait. You could view the entire island. It was stunning. You also take a chairlift up to the top that’s super cute. After Capri we met up with another friend, Millie and strolled around some more. I also checked out the main cathedral in town, which was really pretty.

14123566_1787822114764855_1421887196_o

Overall, Sorrento was pretty nice. It’s basically just a hub that tourists use to get other places, mainly Capri, Positano and the Amalfi Coast. The city itself is quite charming when you branch out from the main tourist areas.

 

 

Leave a Reply

